CONNECTORS

Connectors

‘Connectors’ are used to link large groups of words: phrases and sentences. You can also use them to connect paragraphs to give them coherence. Sentence connectors are usually placed at the beginning of a sentence and may be categorized as follows:

·        Coordinate Connectors

A sentence in the English language can have more than one clause. When there are two clauses in a sentence, then we have to connect with the right connector. One way to connect the two clauses are using coordinate connectors .

Coordinate connectors is but , and , so , or or.

Formula:

S + V +, + coordinate connector (but, and, or, so) + S + V

 Examples:

  • He was sick, but he went to the school.
  • The flour has been bought, and the chocolate has been cut.
  • You must go to school, or the teacher will be angry.
  • He is still angry, so we can not talk to him.

·        Subordinating Connectors

There are a lot of different subordinating conjunctions: normally they link two clauses within a single sentence, so that one clause is subordinated to the other. In other words, the subordinate clause clarifies, expands or explains the meaning of the main clause. Some types of subordinate clause are introduced by subordinating conjunctions, others (such as relative clauses) are not. Common subordinating conjunctions include.

  • as , becauseand since  (cause)
  • soand so that  (purpose)
  • althoughand though  (contrastive)
  • after, before, until, while,  (temporal)
  • if, unless, as long as, provided, whenever, whatever(conditional, indirect question)
  • that(reported speech, indirect statement, consequential)

Examples:

  • I ‘m going to London because I’ve got a new job.
  • She didn’t want any more wine, as she’d already drunk enough.
  • I’m locking the door, so nobody can get in
  • Since it’s raining, I’m going to the cinema this afternoon.
  • As she’d drunk enough, she didn’t take any more wine.
  • So he wouldn’t forget to wake up, he set his alarm for 5.30.
  • Although I love him, I wouldn’t want to marry him.
  • This book is good, though some bits of it are rather boring.
  • After I finished work, I went straight home.
  • Until they opened a new factory, they could not produce enough
  • If you see anything suspicious, let me know at once.
  • Provided you can swim, you can come out on our yacht.
  • You can come out on our yacht, as long as you can swim.
  • I won’t go there, whatever he says.

·        Correlating Connectors

These can either correlate words, or phrases, or clauses (sentences).

The main examples are :

  • … and, not only…. but also,(combining correlators)
  • ..or ,  whether…. or not(binary choice correlators)
  • … nor, (negative correlators)

Other correlating pairs include: the more….. the more….. ;  no sooner….. than… ; hardly … than and a few others.

Examples:

  • This is bothstupid and
  • Boththe president and the prime minister were there.
  • I can understand bothhis reasons and his arguments.
  • Not only can I hear him, but alsoI can  see him
  • I can not onlyhear him, but also see him.
  • Not onlycan I hear him, I can see him (too).
  • I bought not onlysome blue suede shoes, but also a big cowboy hat.
  • It’s eitherright or
  • Eitherit’s right, or it’s wrong
  • Either Mummy or  Daddy will pick you up after school
  • I’ll go there whether or not I’m allowed to
  • I’ll go there whetherI’m allowed to or not.
  • We’re going home now, whetheryou like it or not.
  • NeitherPaul nor Mary could come to my party.
  • I’m neitherangry nor
  • neitherlike that man, nor dislike him
  • neitherlike that man; nor do I dislike him.
  • I have neverbeen to Florida on holiday; nor have I been there on business.
  • The moreyou earn, the more you spend.
  • No soonerhad I opened the door, than the phone rang.
  • Hardlyhad the plane taken off, than the pilot reported some trouble

SOURCE

http://linguapress.com/grammar/conjunctions.htm

http://bahasainggris-inggris.blogspot.com/2013/05/coordinate-connectors.html

http://www.myenglishteacher.eu/question/list-of-sentence-connectors-in-english/

 

Leave a Reply

